Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For A Litany at Dusk
Reviewer: sconnolly318 (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 09:45 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I stumbled upon this gem whilst trolling the 'Most Recent' list here in Twilighted, as I do when I am in need of a good new story. :-)

 

Glad I did! 



Author's Response:

Thank you! Glad you're enjoying the story!

Reviewer: Vaderian (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 06:57 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I really like your Edward, he is very much in character, the self loathing so acute only our favourite vampire can pull off.I also like how you made him more rough around the edges. It makes him seem older and more mature and I must say, rather more interesting.

It's better when he isn't too perfect. That Bella mistook him for an angel was just too heartbreaking. If he is one then it is a fallen one. I can see that they need one another to heal.



Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, I like Edward a little rough, you will see soon how rough he gets. He hasn't had the years of 'hanging with humans" that his family has, so his social skills and sense of propriety are a little bit lacking.

A fallen angel, yes that's him. Thanks for reviewing!

 

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 06:00 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

Edward is so confused, conflicted, tormented!  He can't understand his own feelings and he runs from them, but he realizes this.  So, now he is far away and fighting his desires, trying to find a new reason to continue.  How long will he last before he needs to give in to one lust or another?  Great story-I found you by looking at the recent updates and your summary. 



Author's Response:

I think thats one dilemna in a nutshell, which lust will he give in to? Thanks for all your reviews! I'm glad you are enjoying!

Reviewer: edwardsmine (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 05:29 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I found this on the "Recent" listing.  I LOVE IT!



Author's Response:

Thank you! More in the queue...

Reviewer: AMusefan77 (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 02:35 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

Poor Edward.  I can't imagine how hard it must be for him to resist killing monsters.  I caught that Eric Northman in there, by the way.  Great Chapter.  I can't wait to see how his first real conversation with Bella goes.  I found this story when I was looking for an update on one of my favorites and the title intrigued me. 



Author's Response:

You caught Eric, eh? Yes, I've been on a True Blood binge lately. You may see more names from the show. Thanks for all your reviews! I'm glad you're enjoying!

Reviewer: lord periperi (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 02:11 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

i just stumbled on it in the most recent: the title drew me in, as the word "litany" isn't something you read here on daily basis. ;)

oh, and great chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I was worried about the title but my beta assured me it was okay. I guess she was right! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: LJ Summers (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2009 01:17 AM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

Another amazing chapter.  Wow. 

The cigarette prop is great. Never even considered one of those. :) 

And his having had a thing with Tanya before struck me as being right. Not "good," maybe, but fitting. Though I was sorry to read of his subsequent disillusionment. 

You asked how we find your story.  I found yours on its first appearance on the most recent additions page. :)  I was intrigued by the premise and the fabulous banner. lol

And I've been hooked ever since!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for noticing the cigarette! My beta just quit smoking so we've been talking about it and smoking just seemed to fit biker boy Edward.  We'll see Tanya give Edward some advice in Chap 7, but back to Bella first.  Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Roosickle (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 11:09 PM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I'm going to try and find your other stories, is yor Edward always this dark? as to how I found it, every day I check out the most recent updates !



Author's Response:

No, in my other stories, Edward is not so dark! He's Daddyward in my other mutlichap fic. Thanks, another chapter is in the queue!

Reviewer: jattyca (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 10:27 PM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

To answer your question, I stumbled on your story randomly, and I'm glad I did. I am finding it fascinating. Your characters are richly drawn and have depth after only a few chapters. I am anxious to see more (and am intrigued by the idea of a sexually experienced vampire Edward!).

Author's Response:

You said  you were "intrigued by the idea of a sexually experienced vampire Edward" Me too! Glad you're enjoying the story! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: morganlizard (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 10:04 PM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

Well, I found it in the most recent section. I didn't have time to read it right then, so I favorited it right away, knowing I would like it! I love Dexterward! And you are a fantastic writer. Every description is meaningful and necessary. Love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words! Dexterward! That's new, but I see what you mean. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: TransylvaniaOrange (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 09:33 PM · On: Chapter 1 The Prodigal Son Returns

I just stumbled on it and it caught my interest.  Redemption is always a promising theme.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the stars, hope you are enjoying!

Reviewer: Cullenfan (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 08:58 PM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I just checked the 'recently updated' list one day. I almost never read a story that doesn't have lots of reviews or an award but this one just sounded too good to pass up. I started reading the day you posted the first chapter! :)  It was totally random.

I love this story so much already, and the quality of writing is extremely good. Thanks for the update!!



Author's Response:

Well, thanks for coming by, glad you are enjoying it, more in the queue!

Reviewer: Akelarre (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2009 08:54 PM · On: Chapter 5 No Rest For The Wicked

I liked the title, liked the summary and now of course I keep waiting for the updates because your story and your narrative are really good.   Your Dark Edward has something special because he is struggling with his present, not just with the memory of his past.



Author's Response:

Thanks, it is nice to know what's working.  Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: morganlizard (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2009 02:09 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

Love it! I love the twist that it was Jake who broke her heart originally. So is this story BxE or BxJ eventually? The conflict is even greater with her being very religious. What will the Father say about vampires? And how many close calls will she have with Edward before he realizes he can't eat her up?! It's darker, so I'm loving the possibilities!

Reviewer: sconnolly318 (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2009 12:38 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

Thanks for updating!

Poor Bella!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: readergoof (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2009 06:20 AM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

OOHHHH poor Bella and Edward they are both at their worst

Reviewer: hellacullen (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2009 08:54 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

I'm reviewing this chapter one way or another! *lol* I'm not a big Jacob fan, but I love how quickly she shot him down! I just hope he doesn't get in the way too much.

Reviewer: CullenDreamer (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2009 12:03 PM · On: Chapter 3 Innocence and Ecstasy

["Edward, we're all just slobs on the bus, trying to find our way home. The only thing we can do is keep each other company."]

You know, I don't have a problem with an author having a character use song lyrics in their dialog as long as either a) the author acknowledges it in their A/N with credit to the song/artist, or b) has one of the characters give a nod to it - tongue in cheek.  But using lines from a song, either directly or reworking them, in lieu of writing something original of your own for Emmet to say to Edward?  But hey, maybe you didn't realize you did it.  The brain is a sponge and all.  And if you're wondering what song I'm talking about: 

What if God Was One of Us - By Joan Osborne

What if God was one of us?
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home

As I was reading your fic I kept waiting for Edward to call Emmett out for giving him advice from a pop song.  Then, when he didn't, I kept waiting for Emmett to ruefully admit he got it from a Joan Osborne song. 

I read through the reviews before leaving my own thoughts (and I have read up to Chapter 4 - even though I'm leaving this under Chapter 3).  I have to concur about the Bella/zealot issue. It's offputting, and the "plot reveal" from Chapter 4 doesn't change that for me.  I wanted to like this story (song lyric issue aside, that's easily fixable), especially because I'm enjoying certain aspects of Edward - namely how he is more out there about being sexually attracted to Bella right off the bat.  But too many fundamental elements of Bella have been changed and she is no longer Bella.  I never thought Bella just "accepted" Edward was a killer.  She accepted he killed bad guys for a, what?, ten year period a long time ago.  Because she loved him and was attracted to him, she let her heart tell her that he wouldn't kill her despite being his singer.  She grudgingly allowed him to protect her.  I *think* she wondered at some point how she would feel about him if he was still killing bad humans, but I admit I'm not sure.  But imho she did NOT accept him as a killer because he wasn't one. 

Anyway, I'm not going to necessarily give up on the story yet - though the fact Bella slept with Jacob just about made me hurl - Thanks.  I hope the whole religion thing is going to lighten up because I really, really can't take much more of it.  Feeling sad and guilty over the chapter 4 plot device is one thing but trying to become the best Catholic martyr ever *sarcasm* (and also could you clarify: did your Bella only become Catholic AFTER the "incident"? Or has she always been Catholic but is now going to the extreme due to the "incident"?)

Reviewer: jkane180 (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2009 10:59 AM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

It gets better and better!  Can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: JuliannaOphelia (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2009 04:41 AM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

lovely:)



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: marteloise (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2009 12:21 AM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

Very interesting chapter! Now we know what happened to her...  So was Jacob changing during those 3 months? Can't wait to read more! Thanks for the update!



Author's Response:

Yes, Jacob was in the midst of his transformation so, as a teenage boy, he was self-centered on his own miraculous happenings. I imagined thta in the absence of Edward's competition, that he was more cavalier towards Bella.

More in the queue! Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: jen79 (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2009 09:59 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

God that is horrific! Jake is definitely not a welcome protector. It will be doubly difficult for him to convince her to stay away from the Cullens after what happened in their past.

Reviewer: elislyn (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2009 09:40 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

Poor Bella. Edward should be there to make her feel better.

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2009 07:42 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

That is a sad, tragic story for Bella.  Of course, knowing what we know, it's unfortunate for Jacob too, but not nearly as tragic.  Not since he was the one who wanted her to get rid of the baby.  No wonder she needs to seek comfort where she can find it.  To go through such traumatic events while one is so young can be shattering.  Enter the angel.

Reviewer: AMusefan77 (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2009 05:22 PM · On: Chapter 4 Before God

Poor Bella!  No wonder she spends all of her time praying.  I guess the wolf secret is still a secret.  Can't wait to see what happens when Edward and Jacob finally meet.  Great chapter.  

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.