Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Battle Wounds
Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 12:54 AM · On: Epiphany

What a perfectly lovely way to end that chapter! The dance was the confidence booster Jasper needed and Alice foresaw for him!

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 12:42 AM · On: Almost

Trust in your wife's visions, Jasper Whitlock, and you will be fine!

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 12:25 AM · On: Not Glory

Makes me want to at the very least go see a reenactment, if not participate! What a way to experience history!

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 12:13 AM · On: The Beginning

I think you have caught the flavor and the feeling of this intriguing hobby quite well. I always thought it would be a wonderful lot of fun to do! Jasper is having a really great time, as it brings back so many memories for him! Alice always gives the best gifts, doesn't she?

Reviewer: Squirt (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2010 06:00 PM · On: Not Glory

My sister does period First Person and makes authentic-styled period clothing so I could definitely relate to this story. I'm glad you let Jasper out for a bit of fun!

Reviewer: emma austin (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2010 03:07 PM · On: The Beginning

I love this story. What a great premise! 

Reviewer: TheFleaburger (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2010 02:02 AM · On: Epiphany

I really enjoyed this story.  You captured the delights of another time so poetically!  It was lovely to be absorbed in another side of Jasper and to get to know him all over again.  Thankyou!

Reviewer: FrozenSoldier (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2009 02:24 PM · On: Epiphany

I like the little vision that Alice had.. about him being able to dance with the little girl.

I liked that you had him realise that restraint was possible :)

Is this the end? Or did you plan to have more for it?

If you did, I hope you write some more.. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for all of your kind words on this story. I really appreciate them.  No, this is not the end, but life has been crazy for the last few months, and the next chapter is (still) only about half finnished.  It will be continued, but I do not know when I will be able to do so.  I'm glad you enjoyed what is written here, and thank you again for taking the time to tell me what you thought.

Reviewer: FrozenSoldier (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2009 02:09 PM · On: Almost

ooh interesting, you've really displayed his struggle to keep himself from killing that man.

I'm glad Alice made him come with her, I think he will enjoy it.. so long as nothing goes wrong..

Reviewer: FrozenSoldier (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2009 02:02 PM · On: Not Glory

I liked ths chapter, it was all about the re-enactment.. the ending is my favourite bit where he says what he remembered... About remembering the agony and pandemonium and not glory.

Reviewer: FrozenSoldier (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2009 01:53 PM · On: The Beginning

This is nice, I haven't read anything like this before, so I will be reading the next few chapters :) I did actually add this to my favourites a while back but I got bogged down with a load of other stuff and didn't read it..

Its nice to read something where the author knows about it from own experiences.

Reviewer: quirkyquad (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2009 09:25 AM · On: Epiphany

Lovely!

Reviewer: QuirkierThanYou (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2009 04:31 PM · On: Epiphany

We finally get to the dancing! how exciting! And I totally agree with Jasper that those balls are so completely different from high school dances and in many ways much better. Every one seems so much more respectful at the balls.

Wow that was so amazing that i got almost to the end before realizing i hadn't commented. >gasp!< so wow. and congradulations to Jasper for dancing with that little girl and making her so happy. ( that was me once) and for realizing that his control was so strong. Yay for Alice and Jasper both.

***** I hope you realize i could almost hate you right now ( except you right such amazing stories). This has really made me wish i was at an event, like, now. I haven't been in so long ( stupid school) and this has made me realize suddenly how much i miss being away from it. major kudos for making me pout. its not something i do too often and it took major details and skill.

Will there ever be more?



Author's Response:

First of all, yes, there WILL be more.  I'm actually partway through another chapter (that will be posted seperately from this one-- I don't want to change the rating), and I plan to add more as inspiration strikes.  All of this was based on last year-- my first season-- so I'll probably be writing more once the season begins.

I'm happy to see other reenactors reading, and, more importantly, enjoying my writing-- so thank you for the major confidence boost.  I think I'll go work on that chapter now.... Though I won't say anything about when it will be up-- I've been working on it since October.

Good luck with being able to get out to an event soon!

Reviewer: QuirkierThanYou (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2009 04:13 PM · On: Almost

Yay, finaly the ball!

Oh, poor Jasper of course you have to think of that right then. But you were having such a good time.

Aah. I didn't even think what it might do to Jasper to have to dance with all the humans. Be strong Jasper, you can do it!

Oh I adore Alice's dress. I think i said it in my last review, but i just love ball gowns from that time period. and hers sounds amazing

( if you haven't figured it out yet, i comment as i read, not after i've read the whole thing. hope it doesn't confuse you too much.)

 



Author's Response:

No, it doesn't confuse me!  I love them!  Trying to figure out what parts you were talking about is actually fascinating me-- you review like I find myself reading.  I'm the girl who sits there telling characters 'No!  Don't do that!... You did it!  Bad idea!' lol.

So thank you.  Again.

Reviewer: QuirkierThanYou (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2009 04:03 PM · On: Not Glory

Oh wow a battle. I wondered if you would add a battle scene. My sister and I always made a point to go watch and see how many of our unit fell. we were very disappointed the fist time we tried to go help one of our fallen soldiers and got severely scolded and told that we were absolutely not allowed to go help. Just standing and watching always seemed so wrong when we knew the fallen soldiers.

I really enjoyed Jaspers perspective. i've always wondered what a real civil war vet would think of our reenacting and I think you've really done an amazing, fantastic, wonderful job with Jasper.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed this one too!  My friends and I like to go see the battles-- and then we judge who 'died' best-- we've found that the artillery boys tend to twitch-- they don't 'die' very well!  Infantry boys do so much better!

I do, however, agree that it seems wrong to watch them fall and do nothing.  So very hard to stay put!  Though one of my friends (who's been a reenactor since she was a baby) has fallen asleep on me-- with the cannon at the event! 

May I ask what unit you were from?  Or even which side?

And thank you for your compliments about Jasper.  I'm so happy to hear that you think I've got him right!  So little is known about him in the books that its hard to try and figure out how he would think.  Thank you again!

Reviewer: QuirkierThanYou (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2009 03:53 PM · On: The Beginning

wow. its so cool to find a fellow twilighter who also has the same random hobby. I clicked on the story because it had Alice in it, but I think the fact that it was written by a fellow reenactor hooked me for good.

I love the "are" verses "is" comment. i just had to write an essay on that for my civil war class. it's neat to see it used outside of a classroom.

holy crow. that really was amazing. And the detail (also from a civilian standpoint) was great. As kids, my siblings and I were allowed into camp, while still not often, more often then the rest of the ladies. I can't wait to read about the ball. I love dressing in my 1860's dance-wear almost more than the current styles, so it will be a lot of fun to read that chapter.



Author's Response:

It certainly is a random hobby, isn't it?  A lot of people I know think I'm absolutely insane-- especially when I tell them that I like period styles more than modern ones-- that I'm more comfortable in a hoopskirt than a miniskirt.  I love every moment I spend at an event.  Especially the balls.

Thank you, yet again, for all of the wonderful comments.  As you can probably tell, I repy to them backwards-- hope I didn't confuse you!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: JerseyMusicChick (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2008 11:09 PM · On: Epiphany

I hope you update this soon.

Reviewer: NoMoreThanUsual (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2008 08:42 PM · On: Epiphany

I loved this chapter - even more every time I read it.  I love the annecdotes that occur during the dance with the fan - they're just too funny.  I especially love the "Can't dance with a Yank" girl!

And of course, the best part is Romantic Jasper.  You write fluff very very well and I for one can never get enough of Romantic Jasper! LOL  And there's just not enough Jasper on these sites.

Great chapter, KLB!

Reviewer: twilightitis (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2008 08:19 PM · On: Not Glory

Hurry up and pleas update soon!

Author's Response: I'm working on the next chapter as we speak.  I won't promise that it will be out soon, though.  I'm too much of a perfectionist!

Reviewer: twilightitis (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2008 08:14 PM · On: The Beginning

I love the civil war era. And I am so happy that you have decided to write this story. It is very good, and I just really like it. I totally agree with what you said about slavery vs states rights. In fact, that was the pretty much the thesis for my end of the year essay for my History class last year lol. Thank you for being a genius, and coming up with this interesting story. love it. Lindsey.

Author's Response: I  love the era, also.  It is absolutely fascinating.  (hence the reason I'm a reenactor, LOL!)  Thank you for the compliments, even if I find the whole 'genius' thing to be a little far-fetched! :)

Reviewer: MagicBrinuial (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2008 06:05 PM · On: The Beginning

What a perfect idea for a Jasper story! Makes me miss the days I spent working at a civil war reenactment held at my best friend's farm. Your writing is a pleasure to read. I can't wait to read about the ball- I know how fun those can be!

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm happy to hear that you enjoy this story!

 I'm working on the ball chapter right now--  they're definitely one of the best parts of a reenactment!

Thank you for taking the time to read and review.

Reviewer: scandalous73 (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2008 05:28 PM · On: Not Glory

Yay- I had been waiting for you to update this story! You do such a great job of describing the reenactmets; I really feel like I am there and I've never been to one before! Can't wait for more...

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoy my descriptions!  If you likr this story, you really ought to go see one.  What I can do here pales in comparison to the real thing.

 

Thank you for your comments and encouragement!

Reviewer: NoMoreThanUsual (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2008 06:50 AM · On: The Beginning

I love this story more every time I read it, KLB!  Your story brings out a depth to Jasper's personality that makes me see him in a whole new light.  And a jealous Jasper - well my god!  I can't wait for Chapter 2.

Author's Response: I feel special!  You certainl know how to raise my self- esteem!  Especially since you know what the first version looked like....  Thank you, yet again.

Reviewer: scandalous73 (Signed) · Date: July 03, 2008 07:49 PM · On: The Beginning

Really great story! It's an interesting and original plot and I think you did a lovely job capturing Jasper and what his thoughts/emotions must be being placed back into a situation so much like his human life. Can't wait to read more (you are going to keep going right)?

Author's Response:

It may take me a while, but I'm DEFINITELY continuing this one.  The second chapter is a bit more than half done, and I have a pretty good idea where I want to go after that.

 Thanks for the review, and I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.