Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For From The Ashes
Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2014 06:53 PM · On: Chapter 22

OMG!!!!!!! can hardly wait for the next posting!!!!!

Reviewer: Starnani21 (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2014 12:25 AM · On: Chapter 21

WOW!!!

I learned just 2 days ago that I have not been receiving all of my emails for the last 2 months... I am soooo late to this party!

I didn't know how to take Bella's initial observations when first meeting Carmen. What did Edward pickup on, he had to have noticed something was off, right?

So, what exactly is going on with Edward? Is he possessed? Is there a sort of split personality going on? I mean, you had the Djinn give an explanation but it just didn't register very clearly to me. Maybe as the story progresses and we see more of him and his interactions with the other characters it will become clearer.

Do you think the family has processed all this turmoil thoroughly? I mean, I don't want the story to be slowed down by an excessive amount of familial reflections and homelessness... but, we did just go from "we survived" to "our family is whole and together" to "marital engagement and fantasy wedding planning" to "Edward's dying and wedding crashed by ultimate evil" to "okay, 'we'll hold down the law while you devise a plan to take down the big bad'"... all the characters have been so level headed. Wouldn't even 1 person/vampire be a bit freaked out? Vampire wars happen, but not every few months.

I can't imagine where you are taking this story. Okay, Bella had the prophetic vision during her "meditation"... I still didn't expect the twist during the wedding reception. I'm tempted to assume you have laid out all the pieces of the puzzle at this point, but we've been with you for too long :)

On a separate note...

    I am happy to see you have been updating.

While I am grateful to you for continuing this wonderful adventure, I hope you and your family are well and happy. Thank you for sharing this part of you with rest of us. I look forward to more of your magical story.

 

THANK YOU!!! Until next time...

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2014 04:42 PM · On: Chapter 21

  '"Edward tells me he felt you!"(...)        Intense relief flooded through me and then the rest of our family, grounding us all with the knowledge our loved one was not yet lost.'        So, Edward's conscious in there.  I expected him to be unaware, sort of in a coma.  I like this better.        :)

    "Carmen knew I was a warrior and a spy, and with that comes dangers. Even for her. She was a brave woman and I'm sure she gave Sulpicia a fight. After seeing Xandru in spirit form, I am blessed with the validation that when I am to turn into light, I will see her in the Aether."        It's a relief to see Eleazar so in peace, all things considered.  I can't help to be a little sorry for him, though.  Being immortal, this reunion could take forever.  Literally.

  "Should we...go after Xandru? Is that our next destination?"        "No. He is in spirit form and she can not truly harm him. He is eternal. She has no power over him except to send him back whence he came, and at sunrise he will be called back to the Aether regardless."        Another relief.  I was worried about Xandru.  And, things being as they are, I hope he dodged her abjurations and gave her hell until the time of his return to the other side.        B-)

    'He drifted over to the redwood tree and was studying Eleazar's walking stick with rather intense fascination. He was just about to reach out and touch it when it transformed into a six- foot long cobra, who reared and hissed at my very shocked brother before it slithered quickly up the varnished red cedar's upper branches.(...)         Turning to Eleazar, my big lug of a brother gave his best hopeful, pleading look. "Think she would be up to chattin' later? After her snooze? I've never talked to a snake before..."        Wadjet lifted her head and flicked her tongue, giving what I swear was a glare of warning.(...)         Emmett was trying not to sulk in the corner. He had been so excited when he discovered Wadjet's mode of travel while listening to Eleazar's tale. He had expressed an interest in going for a "ride" to which Wadjet had hissed at him and climbed up Eleazar's pant leg to wrap herself around his waist like a large belt.'        Heheheh!  Ah, Emmett...  He and Wadjet lightned the mood a shade or two.  He didn't make much of a good impression on her, did he?

  Well, can't wait to meet Doctor Siobhan O'Riorden.  And, if they ever make good on their promise of introducing Emmett to Sa, I hope he doesn't try anything funny.  He may end up as the meal instead of the other way around.        :-P



Author's Response:

I am just about to sit down to write Dr. O' Riorden's scene which takes place on the mounds of Tara. This chapter is a fun one for me because I finally get to use some of my research connecting Egyptian dynasties to the High Kings of Ireland. I've been holding on to it for almost four years! I'm a strong supporter of diffusionism, as you can probably tell. :)

The scene with Wadjet and Emmett just sort of happened. I'm so glad it worked.  I let Emmett just take the reins and do his comic relief magic. :)

Introucing Emmett to Sa - now that is a GREAT idea for an outtake. :)

Thanks Nando!

Mistress Moon

Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2014 03:32 PM · On: Chapter 21

please post more soon!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm working steadily on it, Cassaundra! Stay tuned!

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2014 09:39 AM · On: Chapter 21

I feel like Wadjet and Emmett kind of stole the scene there. Could be an interesting friendship if they had the time :)



Author's Response:

I did not plan on Em taking such a shine to Wadjet - it just sorta happened on its own, and I thought "Yeah, it works!"  I'm so glad you enjoyed it.  I wasn't sure at the time, but I'm glad I left it in. Bless you for mentioning it.! 

Thank you so much for your reviews Daniel.  Two chapters left! 

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2014 04:15 PM · On: Chapter 20

  'Time distorted as the half fluid, half tangible arborescences flowed out of my body with the surging push of a tidal wave, attacking Sulpicia with the force of a thousand loosed demons. Caught off guard, Sulpicia screamed, her zombies echoed her terror, stopping up short to open their mouths and keen like devils.'        WOO-HOO!!!  Get her, Eleazar.  And guys.

  'With a raging Valkyrian cry, great fiery wings unfurled behind her, flapped once, twice, and by the third time, a gigantic spirit Phoenix flew out of her body to meet Sekhmet's power animal. The Phoenix sailed over me in a rush of heat and flame, seeking its target who had immediately turned tail in abject fright back to the body she had stolen.'        Turned tail...  BWAHAHAHAHAAHHH!!  Oh, I like it!  Not so good when you're not the top dog, huh, Sekhy?  Or cat, in your case.        *evil grin*

  'The cloud of enchanted dust Sulpicia had thrown began eating a hole in the atmosphere like termites through wood.(...) Bella's Phoenix reared up before it, screeching and hissing fire, refusing to follow Sulpicia through it. Not so for Xandru. His ghostly form leapt from the Phoenix's back and dove through the wormhole before it closed.'        He went after her alone??  Oh, man, I hope he will be fine.  I mean, she can't really harm him, can she?

  '"Edward? Ahhh! So that is his name. He is not here.? My name is Benji. And I am in your debt."(...)        "No, Benji, you are in my husband, and I would kindly ask that you...get out," Bella spat.        "If I do, I'm afraid your husband could die. Sooner, rather than later," Benji calmly replied.'        Geez, what a pickle...  Well, better than lose Edward, I guess.  And I'm glad Benji is back to sanity.

  Let's see what is in the to-do list:  track and defeat that Beast for good; heal Edward, so Benji can release him (and so he can be turned again into a vampire, of course. At least, I hope he will); and bring Hathor back from her bleak sleep.  I think a quick visit to Ireland is in order, don't you think?        ;-P



Author's Response:

I am planning on demolishing that to do list in three chapters! Hold on for the crazy ride!  Chapter 21 was put in the queue for validation this AM and I log in to see a neglected review from my favourite reviewer, Nando.  I have an excuse!  I've been busy like a mad bee writing the final chapters for Ashes.  I am so excited with how it is all flowing together.  I have three more weeks to take advantage of the children being in school and I am absolutely positive I can get the chapters finished before their school year comes to a close. At ages 8 & 9 they are a whirlwind to keep up with, so holing myself up in my room to write is not an option!  I must have an ending for my dear readers, already! 

Motivated and Madly writing,

Mistress Moon

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 02:36 AM · On: Chapter 20

Man oh man, the visuals running through my head for this chapter would need the combined efforts of ILM and WETA to match the words :)I wonder if Benji & Source could work out a time-share arrangement with Bella & Edward? Heh. It's been a long week  :)

 

 



Author's Response:

Daniel, you sure do know how to make a writer blush with a gushing onset of pride. I will sheepishly admitting to looking up the meanings for ILM and WETA and being beside myself with gratitude for such a compliment!  One thing I really strive for is that visualization in my writing.  It is one of the most important ingredients of Magic as well, so to know I hit the mark set off sparks in my heart! THANK YOU!  

I hear you on the long week. My kids are home for the long weekend, but I'm back to writing on Tuesday.  Hopefully if I can get these last few chapters finish we won't need to arrange a time share for Edward and Bella with Benji and Hathor. ;)

Have a super Sunday!

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2014 08:12 PM · On: Chapter 1

I'm glad the Djinn will get to play the hero and be healed in the process too.



Author's Response:

Me too!  I loved the idea of creating a Djinn character, and Benji seemed like the perfect choice. He was quite the pet of Amun in the original, so I wanted to use him in some way with the Ra / Amun storyline. 

Only a few chapters left!  Thanks for continuing to support Ashes.  xoxo

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 11, 2014 08:20 AM · On: Chapter 19

  'Harry had taught me that the body knows things before the mind has time to reason with the heart, and my guts were telling me Carmen Morales didn't seem to care who she bled with that blade -- a telltale weapon of an unhealthy soul.'        Point for Harry.  I really like the role you gave him in your story.  Better than simply killing him.

  'Dropping to the ground beside him, I pulled his limp body towards me. Cradling him in my arms, he felt like a rag doll, fragile and incredibly light. His eyes fluttered open. Unfocused, they rolled back in his head. When they returned and fixed on me, they had changed from gold to washed-out jade.'        Geez!!  This isn't what I was expecting.  I thought she would come with a voodoo able to make even a vampire sick.  Somehow, this seems worse.  Hmm...  Why do my gut tells me that biting him again won't help?

  'When I looked up from the ground, a man covered in snow and ice with dark hair, was cradling Sulpicia's unconscious form, weeping, whispering over and over,        "Carmen, my Carmen, what did they do to you?"(...)        Before I had a chance to scream a warning to him, her eyes opened, revealing Sulpicia's brilliant azure blue. Her arms came around him, squeezing hard enough Eleazar cried out in pain and then horror when he realized he was in the clutches of something that was not his beloved wife.'        Oh.  Crap!!!

  Damn cliffhangers.        :-P



Author's Response:

I'm so sorry.  I can't help it. I LOVE CLIFFHANGERS.  Well, writing them.  And reading them too.  But only when I have the advantage to turn the damn page and find out what the blue bells happened! :) I feel you.  It's coming, I promise! 

Thank you for commenting on the role I gave Harry - that of Wisdom Keeper and Teacher is such a sacred, and underappreciated role. There is also just so much secular relevancy to the teachings of the idigenous peoples the world over. The central focus on balancing yourself with nature, with others, with your own ego and spirit...no matter the name of your faith or culture, the language of the heart - the langauge rooted in unconditional love, compassion and intuition, teaches us everything we need to know about living peacefully with one another.

You weren't expecting Edward to get turn human or get the flu again? ~giddy dance~  I figured since Sekhmet is known as the goddess of pestilence, giving him back his spanish flu would not be such a reach for her. I'm so tickled it surprised you!  YAY! 

Writing chapter 21 this week. Hopefully devilsgenie will be nice enough to validate 20 by this weekend.  Fingers crossed! Thank you so much Nando for the beautiful review!

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: May 11, 2014 03:52 AM · On: Chapter 19

Ahh poor Eleazar! Looking forward to the next chapter :)



Author's Response:

It's coming Daniel!  Submitting tonight and hopefully it will be a quick validation.  Thank you so much for coming back and supporting Ashes every update.  I really REALLY appreciate it.  Only a few chapters left to go. :)

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2014 06:49 PM · On: Chapter 19

AAAaaaaaa!!!!!!!! the waiting!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Not too long!  It's written, and Is being submitted to the queue immediately,  Hang in there! Thank you so much for the fantastic rating and for THE WAITING! xoxox

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2014 04:23 PM · On: Chapter 18

  Ah, Rowan; you take your time, but the result is always awesome...

  The audience with Sa, the mood of aweness, Eleazar's fallen comrades (Hey there, Xandru!)...  Perfect!        ^_^

  But, I admit, I'm not very eager to see Eleazar finding out about Carmem.  I hope he and Bella kick Sekhmet's ass all the way into Oblivion for that.  And all the other stuff.



Author's Response:

You are most kind, Nando!  Thank you so much for the reading, rating and review!  This chapter is one I hold in close to my heart.  There is so much mythos and mystery to the Alaskan setting, I had to dig around and see what I could find, and Sa the spirit bear seemed an appropriate guest star role. :) 

You know they kicked butt and took names!  I couldn't have it any other way. 

Blessings to you and yours,

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2014 08:30 PM · On: Chapter 19

Wow.  Cliff hanger!  Thank you for posting so quickly.



Author's Response:

You are most welcome! Thank you for coming back.  There will be another chapter as soon as i can get it validated.  It's going in the queue tonight! 

Kind regards

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2014 07:50 PM · On: Chapter 18

YAY!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE POSTING AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE DONT STOP!!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Hahahaha! Your post made me feel so good. Thank you! :)  Yes, writing and posting again.  19 and 20 are written and 19 should be validated sometime this week, hopefully.  Thank you so much Cassuandra for coming back and supporting Ashes and encouragiing me to finish.  

Kind Regards.

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2014 07:03 AM · On: Chapter 18

It's great to see Eleazar get through this chapter but I can't help feeling devastated in advance for him... unless the combination of his super charge and Bella's can do something awesome in the end :)



Author's Response:

Eleazar will be tested to his very core when he makes it to the wedding. I had the "after battle jitters" for hours after I wrote the battle scene for Chapter 19.  It should be posted very soon and is in the queue to be validated.  Thank you SO VERY MUCH Daylen for coming back and supporting Ashes.  I apologize for taking so long with the writing of it, but I'm on the path to finish!

Kind Regards,

Rowan Moon

 

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2013 07:34 AM · On: Chapter 17

  The wedding was really a vision, a masterpiece.  At least to my mind's eye.  Your Alice really outdid herself, which means you did too.  Their vows, coming from that text from Kahlil Gabran, were specially interesting.  Basically saying that they would always be together, but each one must keep their own space too.  Original and inspiring.        ^_^

  But, of course, there was that:

  "All this power in the room, yet every single one of them would bow down to you in a heartbeat. How does that make you feel?"(...)        Standing in front of me was a tall, dark-haired woman with a self-assured smile. I could almost say cocky. There was also something in her tone that suggested something lying beneath her words - something dangerous.(...)        "Isabella, I'd like you to meet Carmen Morales. Eleazar's wife."

  Rowan, thank you very much for not mixing the perfect moments in this chapter with what is about to happen.  It was a good call to leave it to the next.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Nando.  I really had a lot of fun "planning" the wedding.  I'm not married myself, so it was a "live vicariously" type writing exercise.  :)  I really appreciate that you noticed I made an effort not to "marr" their day with Sulpicia's malicious presence. I took so much time planning that wedding, I wasn't going to let Sulpicia ruin it.  Though she is chomping at the bit to get started!  I'm pushing to have the chapter post before the holicraze sets in.  If I don't get a chance to tell you beforehand, Joyeux Noel and Yuletide Blessings from my family to yours, dear Nando.

Warm Regards,

RowanMoon

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2013 02:32 PM · On: Chapter 17

Uh oh... Did she beat Eleazar there? Or did she already dispose of him?



Author's Response:

Maybe she just didn't beat him by much.  ;)

Thanks for the review Shannon!

xo

RowanMoon

 

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2013 01:57 PM · On: Chapter 17

Oh boy and here we go!  Where is Eleazar?  Is Sulpicia going to stick around long enough to create a lot of DRAMA?  Can Edward read her mind?  If not, a red flag should be going up.  What about Alice?  Does anyone question "Carmen" about where Eleazar is?  More red flags.  Can't wait until the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Eleazar is on his way and you know Sulpicia is all about the show!  I'm still struggling with whether or not Edward can read her mind.  I'm leaning towards no since Sulpicia is able to do so many things that we (including me!) are not yet aware of.  Same with Alice.  Don't forget - Sulpicia is 50% creator of the vampire race - she kinda knows a few tricks about feckin' with their programming. ;)

Thanks for the review, Deb!!!

xo

RowanMoon

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2013 03:50 AM · On: Chapter 16

This is certainly an exciting tale.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Deb.  Hopefully to get really exciting soon!  HEE HEE!

 

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2013 11:46 PM · On: Chapter 16

Aaaaaaagghjh!  Nooooooooo! I'm caught up? Here? Now?! Good grief....  please, for my greedy sake alone, more soon!  I'm dying to know if they actually make it through the ceremony. And poor, sweet Carmen! I'd been wondering about her, and how Eleazar could stand to be away from her so long to begin with. Or is the strength of the Cullens' bonds stronger than average? I would hope he would be able to tell immediately it's not really her when he sees her. But I'd say that pretty much seals his fate. Sulpicia will kill him, I'm sure. But we'll he manage to off-load Beni first? I hope so!



Author's Response:

No worries Shannon! I have one more chapter that is complete that I'm sending in for validation, and I'm trying REALLY REALLY hard to post one more chapter before Christmas. But we all know how the Holicraze can get...I'm not even close to ready this year!

Talk to you soon!  Thanks so much for the reviews and the amazing ratings.  xoxo

Rowan Moon

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2013 11:54 AM · On: Chapter 1

Oh, whoops! Marlin? Meant to say Merlin! Darned smart phone spell check!  Merlin, as in of Arthurian legend...



Author's Response:

Bahahahaha!  Now MERLIN I totally get.  I LOVE Arthurian Mythology and the Search for the Grail.  One of my favorites is Marion Zimmber Bradley's The Mists of Avalon.  Gorgeous writing.

 

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2013 11:15 PM · On: Chapter 3

Holy hell! That Sulpicia is one evil witch!  I love that you made her the power behind the powers. It's a perfect mesh to the rest of the story. The women are always the true powers in a goddess-ruled universe. Look out Eleazar!



Author's Response:

Oooooh, you wait.  I don't hold back her blackness.  ;)  I love writing her scenes.  I try to wait until I am in the heights of PMS to get the best results.  hee hee!

Thank you so much, Shannon!

 

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2013 10:47 PM · On: Chapter 2

This chapter reminds me of Marlin and a story I read where he spends ages as a fish, and other things. Interesting to hear him becoming one with nature. Kinda like this chapter....



Author's Response:

Cool.  I don't think I've heard of this Marlin or his story. I really like the idea of reincarnation. It completely jives with my concepts of spirituality in that we are all connected - I think we are non-physical entities living a physical experience.  Except most aren't blesssed enough to realize they've been here before.  ;)

 

Reviewer: crazymama (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2013 10:20 PM · On: Chapter 1

Oh my God! This is by far the most riveting story I've read in a long time! So different than any other fanfic I've read. More! More!



Author's Response:

There's lots more - and I'm tyring to get the rest written as fast as I can. ;)  I really enjoyed writing in Xandru's POV to give a little backstory and what Isabella DOESN'T know yet.  Thank you so much for diving right into the sequel and giving it such rave reviews.

Warm Regards,

RowanMoon

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2013 12:22 PM · On: Chapter 16

  For me?  I'm honored, ma'am.        ;)

  'I instinctively hid behind one of the mirrors Alice had set up in our bedroom for the final fitting of my wedding dress. The day had been a blur of activity administering to the last minute details, and I was admittedly a little shell-shocked, so when she screeched, I scampered for cover.'        The all-powerful Golden-Eyed Queen, who defeated the Volturi single-handed, and the pixie scared her.  Heheheh!

  '"Alice, it's just a wedding dress..."        "JUST A WEDDING DRESS?!?"        Edward's face blanked in fear at the fuming, indignant women staring across the room at him. I tried hard not to snicker as he backed slowly out of the doorway and closed the door.'        But I will laugh.  BWAHAHAHAHAHAAAAHHH!!        X-D       

  The dress seems to be otherwordly stunning, by the way.

  'My head jerked to look back from where we had walked from to see desolation was devouring the scenery behind us! The grass was dried up; flowers were turning into husked remnants of their former glory.(...)        Touching the edge of his feet, I could see the sickness eating like an acid at the outside of his shoes.        His screams sounded in my ears as the evil licked its way up my lover's legs. He crumbled and we both went down on the ground.'        Just like Ra predicted, may he rest in peace.  And with Sulpicia attending,  I'm affraid this won't really be the happiest day of their lives.

  Yet.

  Because I'm very much counting with this:

  'That horrible vision confirmed my enemies knew harming Edward could immobilize me with pain and suffering, giving them an advantage. I needed to prove them wrong. Make it clear if anyone dared take him from me, they would suffer the full extent of my wrath.        Sulpicia can wield her worst. My dedication to protect Edward and the Source will never waiver.        Somehow, I knew this would be the most important vow I made today.'        Amen.



Author's Response:

For you Nando, because you are so patient, kind and generous with your reviews of this story.  

The dress is stunning and will be exhibiting some of its power in chapter 17 and 18.  I wish I could draw. I hope my descriptions are enough. ;) With any luck, chapter 17 will be posted next week.  I'm sending it in for validation today.  Devilsgenie has been pretty awesome for turnaround. 

Thank you so much for everything you contribute to my self esteem as a writer.  Amen. Amin. Amun. <3

Rowan Moon

 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.